How to Save Website Passwords and Forms with Last Pass | Password Manager


Video Transcription

I just want to take a minute to introduce to everyone, one of the biggest time savings sites/add-ons that I have found in a long time. Everyone I have shown this to, have lived by it ever since. So I want to show this to everyone in as much detail as possible.

The add-on is called Last Pass, and you can find it at LastPass.com. It is a browser add-on that is compatible with all the major browsers (Internet Explorer, Firefox, Safari, Chrome, Opera) as well as mobile operating systems (iOS, Android, Windows, BlackBerry etc.). What it does is it allows you to store website passwords automatically. It sounds basic, but it is extremely comprehensive and powerful and has a couple other tools such as the ability to automatically fill in web forms.

First, you will download LastPass. It’s going to install to your browsers, whatever you have installed by default. I use Chrome and Firefox and IE if I absolutely have to. So I have it for all those browsers. So if I open up a new tab and go to Twitter, you will see that there is a new bar “last pass has filled in your login information for the form”. So if I go to sign in here, you will see that my username and password has been already inserted. You can see the little Last Pass logo so you know it has filled it in.

Last Pass can remember multiple logins so you can login with a work or personal account. Once your login details have been autofilled you simply have to click once to sign in automatically. You can actually set autologins as well so they automatically fill in the information and login.

Password Manager - Last Pass

Again, it is cross-browser, so you install it once on each browser and sign in and it will keep all your passwords in the cloud. You can log off and have someone else login and they can immediately access their passwords from your computer as well. So you can move computers with no problem. Last Pass is one of the most amazing things I have ever installed for my computer, period. It is actually incredible.

The other thing that it allows you to do is automatically fill web forms. I have this Yahoo registration form and I can sit their and fill in this form manually (no idea why anyone would want a Yahoo account these days) or I can actually define a form profile to have auto-filled. If I click on the Last Pass button and click “Fill Forms” you can see that I have two profiles already, one for my company and one with my personal information. For demonstration purposes, I’m going to create a new profile.

Start by clicking “Add Profile” and enter a name for the profile. I’m just going to call it “Test”. You can then enter in your name – “Dave, Silva” – and can fill in your birthday information, for example. Then you click “Add Form Fill Profile” and now I can click on the add-on, click on Fill Forms and click on “Test”. The information I entered is then inserted into the form automatically. The more information you fill out on the profile, the better. When you have those long forms that ask for your address and more, it can save you several minutes every time you need to register for a new website.

The fact that you can have multiple forms is very useful. You can have a work profile with work phone number and address as well as your personal one. Obviously, this is extremely useful.

Those are the most useful features, there are some others that are nice add-ons but those are the most important parts. You can save multiple logins for each site, multiple forms and even have websites auto-login when you visit them. The app is password protected and encrypted so you can choose to have to log on each time you open your browser for added security.

This is literally the most useful thing I have installed as long as I can remember. If you are like me and you have to reset passwords for sites all the time, this will save you a lot of grief.

Please let me know what you think about it in the comments below, and if you have any questions, please feel free to ask.

Learn Something New Subscribe

2 thoughts on “How to Save Website Passwords and Forms with Last Pass | Password Manager

Leave a comment